Nick and P-Nut of 311 react to how Mike D from the Beastie Boys talked trash about them and talk about a famous musician who likes them

Back at the end of March it was reported how Mike D from the Beastie Boys talked trash about 311.

While being interviewed by Vulture, Mike talked about a best case scenario on if another band/artist would sound like the Beastie Boys in which he mentioned Cypress Hill.  However, he was also asked about a worst-case scenario in which he mentioned 311.  This is what he said according to Vulture:

“Not that it’s ever happened, but my fear would be that someone would be like, “311.Alt-reggae, rap-rock, and long T-shirts worn under short T-shirts all coalesced in this still-going band. Maybe it’s the turntables that earned the comparison? You love those guys, right?” I’m sure they’re nice people — [their music] isn’t my cup of tea.”

Nick and P-Nut of 311 was interviewed by Q103 Albany in this video below about what Mike D said.  When asked how it affected the band talked about it not being “uplifting” but is also something to be “taken with  grain of salt.”  They even said it is “all good” as they talked trash about other bands before.  They do think Mike D probably will regret doing it eventually because they think there is “no gain” out of talking trash about other bands/artists.

They also said they like to focus on the positives like Joe Strummer being a fan of the band for example.

Around the 6:30 mark in the video is when they start talking about Mike D.  You might have to reload the page a few times or wait for the video to appear.  If it doesn’t appear, go HERE.

311 will be hitting the road with Offspring this summer which starts in late July.  Here are the dates:

Wednesday, July 25 Mountain View, CA Shoreline Amphitheatre
Friday, July 27 Salt Lake City, UT USANA Amphitheater
Saturday, July 28 Las Vegas, NV Downtown Las Vegas Events Center
Sunday, July 29 Chula Vista, CA Mattress Firm Amphitheatre
Tuesday, July 31 Phoenix, AZ Ak-Chin Pavilion
Thursday, August 2 Oklahoma City, OK The Zoo Amphitheatre
Saturday, August 4 Austin, TX Austin360 Amphitheater
Sunday, August 5 The Woodlands, TX Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion Presented by Huntsman
Tuesday, August 7 Jacksonville, FL Daily’s Place
Wednesday, August 8 Charlotte, NC PNC Music Pavilion
Friday, August 10 Philadelphia, PA Festival Pier at Penn’s Landing
Saturday, August 11 Gilford, NH Bank of New Hampshire Pavilion
Sunday, August 12 Syracuse, NY Lakeview Amphitheater
Tuesday, August 14 Sterling Heights, MI Michigan Lottery Amphitheatre at Freedom Hill
Wednesday, August 15 Springfield, IL Illinois State Fair
Tuesday, August 21 Hartford, CT XFINITY Theatre
Wednesday, August 22 Holmdel, NJ PNC Bank Arts Center
Friday, August 24 Bethel, NY Bethel Woods Center for the Arts
Saturday, August 25 Wantagh, NY Northwell Health at Jones Beach Theater
Sunday, August 26 Bristow, VA Jiffy Lube Live
Tuesday, August 28 Toronto, ON Budweiser Stage
Wednesday, August 29 Allentown, PA The Great Allentown Fair
Friday, August 31 St. Paul, MN Minnesota State Fair
Saturday, September 1 Sioux City, IA Battery Park at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Sioux City
Monday, September 3 St. Louis, MO Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre
Tuesday, September 4 Huber Heights, OH Rose Music Center at The Heights
Thursday, September 6 Chicago, IL Huntington Bank Pavilion at Northerly Island
Saturday, September 8 Thackerville, OK Winstar Casino
Sunday, September 9 Wichita, KS INTRUST Bank Arena

 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.